Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This Presidential election year has brought out the good, the bad, the ugly and the very ugly.  We have seen sides of people we called friends that have had us holding our mouths wide open with surprise.  We have read countless posts on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and more all giving opinions of the current POTUS.  Of the outgoing POTUS.  Of how people voted. Whom they voted for. Why they voted for said candidate. How moronic one side or the other is.  It has been an exhausting campaign and there is still a sting from all that has been said and done.

As a Jesus follower,  I personally don’t feel that my voice for politics has to be incredibly loud.  Now, this is my own personal opinion and I realize it isn’t shared by all.  So, I sit back and wonder….if we are Jesus followers, is that evident in the way I discuss politics?  Or are my politics outshining the fact that I am a Jesus follower?

Stay with me here!  Look over your posts for the last few months.  Do they reflect Christ?  Are we slamming the side of politics we are not on?  Are we standing up, holding signs about politics? Where are the signs about Jesus?  (not that I’m into that….just a metaphor).

If the loudest and most apparent thing about us is our political stance, then aren’t we missing an enormous opportunity to share the love of Christ?  Do our words contradict what we claim to be saying is wrong with the opposite “side”?

november-9-ig-01

borrowed from @cleerelystated

 

To me, being a Christ follower and being loudly vocal about politics can cause a direct conflict because when it all goes down to the nitty gritty, Jesus is the King of Kings. How much more beautiful our world would be if we rest in that. If we remember.  If we don’t forget.  When I feel an eye roll coming on, that is what I need to tell myself.  Jesus. Is. The. King. Of. Kings.

Isaiah 9:6  For a child will be born to us, a son will be given to us;                                                              And the government will rest on His shoulders;                                                                                                 And His name will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Eternal Father, Prince of Peace.  

img_2700

Photo taken in Antigua, Guatemala

